2020 50c 60 Years Of Supercars - 2008 Ford BF Falcon Unc Coin

100 % of 100

Australia enjoys an enduring love affair with Supercars racing, and this year celebrates 60 years of the Australian Touring Car Championship.

The first Australian Touring Car Championship was held in 1960 at Gnoo Blas NSW, where the single-race title was won by David McKay driving a Jaguar.

Product Code

An Australian-made car first won the ATCC in 1970 – the second year of the title being decided over a series of races – when a Holden Monaro GTS 350 ended a decade of dominance by British and American cars.

Jaguars dominated the early years, but V8 power took over in 1965, when Norm Beechey won at Sandown in the first Ford Mustang brought to Australia. V8-engined cars have subsequently accounted for all but 10 titles. Since the arrival of the Mustang in 1965, Australians have had a passion for V8 engines that remains the foundation of the sport.

This fascination with V8s reached its zenith in the Supercars era from the 1990s to now, a Holden-versus-Ford era that has the Red Lion ahead with 15 Supercars titles to the Blue Oval’s 12. However, over the total 60 years of the ATCC Ford leads with 26 titles to Holden’s 21.

In the hundreds of races since its humble beginnings in 1960, the ATCC has created champions and legends through classic races and rivalries.

Coin Highlights:

  • Uncirculated coin in presentation card features the 2008 Ford BF Falcon
  • Issued by the Royal Australian Mint
  • Obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth ll, as designed by Jody Clark
  • Australian legal tender
More Information
Country Of Issue Australia
Year 2020
Denomination 50c
Metal Type Cupro Nickel
Weight (g) 15.55
Purity (%) 99.9
Diameter (mm) 31.51
Mintage Unlimited
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:2020 50c 60 Years Of Supercars - 2008 Ford BF Falcon Unc Coin
Your Rating
You May Also Like