Login Register
Login Register
Shopping Cart
0 Item $0.00
View Cart Divider Checkout

2016 Australia's First Mints Four Coin Unc Mintmark Privy Set

The Royal Australian Mint’s 2016 mintmark and privy mark set pays tribute to the sovereigns that were minted as a result of Australia’s gold rush.

As part of the annual tradition, this four coin set allows collectors to purchase the coins adorned with each of the mintmarks and privy marks that will be available throughout the year.

Availability: Sold Out

Code: 999

Throughout the 19th century, Australian currency was an assortment of foreign coins, promissory notes and rum trades. The gold rush of this era became a pivotal event for Australian society, assisting in the development of both a form of currency and a unique identity.

The Adelaide Assay Office was established in 1852, and in its short life produced gold ingots and Australia’s first gold coin, the Adelaide Pound. Official branches of the Royal Mint opened in Sydney (1855), Melbourne (1872) and Perth (1899), producing sovereigns and other pre-decimal coins.

The Royal Australian Mint opened in 1965, superseding other Australian mints to become the sole producer of the country’s decimal coins.

For several years, a highlight in visiting the Royal Australian Mint has been the gallery press. Here visitors can strike their own C mintmark coin which celebrates an event or tradition of national significance.

Product Code: 310887

Metal Content (g) 9.00

Monetary Denomination (AUD) 1

Fineness (% purity) 99.9

Maximum Diameter (mm) 25.00

Contact Us
PO Box 2111
Wangara DC, WA 6947
1300 338 894

Please wait...

{{var product.name}} was added to your cart:

Continue Shopping
View Cart & Checkout
Continue Shopping
View Cart & Checkout